Yoga: A child and Two Cities Later

Posted on October 6, 2011

0


Tonight is a yoga night. Actually I have the good fortune to live in a place where there are options for yoga and just about every other physical activity every night of the week. Me, I like to take advantage of them. Like Olivia Newton John, I like to get physical. So while lately running is my favorite activity, yoga is my favourite cross training, but it has to be hot yoga. For me, it is far better than a day at the spa or a massage. Its yoga! It leaves me feeling warm, all stretched out and clear headed.  I have been doing yoga for a long time actually. Since my oldest son was born. It was something I was curious about for a long time before I got up the courage to walk into a Sivananda Studio in Toronto one night. It was the BEST thing ever. Calm, physical, meditative, time just for me. Funny thing is that at that time I had severe dizzy spells that would overtake me every time I lay flat, so yoga, and in particular, relaxation made me very dizzy. Anyhow, a child and two cities later, I have gone from Sivananda to Ashtanga to Moksha and sometimes a little Jivamukti via podcast. If you haven’t tried it, I highly recommend it whether just for fun or for therapeutic reasons!

Posted in: Uncategorized