costumes, cuddles and rainy day car troubles

Posted on October 30, 2011

1


Jack-o-latern

Image via Wikipedia

I have gone a few days without posting, but the blog is still an ongoing thing. I am just very, very lazy this week-end and all of my energy went into having fun with my family.

Here’s a snapshot of my lazy week-end:

Saturday: woke up and went for a run with my husband in Shubie. The leaves were stunning again, but it was a really difficult run for us both between the cold air, my cold and his asthma. Still, we ran three sets of 10, which for us is approximately 4 km. Afterwards we were breathless, but content. The boys were doing a paddle clad in costume and eating candy over at the canoe club. Then they brought some pals home and we all had pancakes. The rest of the day involved air hockey, cooking two kinds of curry, walking the dog (back at Shubie again), and visiting the local haunted house. It was my first visit to the haunted house and I screamed the entire way through. I don’t know how they made it so grey, foggy and eerie, but I got my fill of Halloween with people grabbing my ankles and popping up in my face and out from dark corners. Even my husband was screaming. It kind of bonded us together.  I think the kids had a great time too, but I am not sure because they went in with their friends while we went in with their friend’s father, the one person who did not scream at all. He will look at us differently the next time he sees us.

Sunday. Fighting in the car, in the rain. All of us. Claustrophobic I guess, but none of us held any grudges later. It was one of those family car rides from hell we all have and none of us admit to – until now. It is a tradition handed on from generation to generation, as I recall. Then we went to see my mom and dad, but the kids weren’t behaving that well. We should never have left home today. Peace was restored the minute we entered our house again and cuddled up under our respective blankets with the media of our choice. We played musical laptop and tv for the rest of the day, as the rain pounded at the windows.

Pound some more, rain. I wish you would never stop. Tomorrow my rainy Sunday will have been slept into a daydream, and we will all be back to the grind. Sun is predicted, and productivity. Boo, I say.

Happy Halloween!

Posted in: Uncategorized